So a friend/co-worker and I started talking about the Marvel hip-hop alternative covers, which led to him checking out the hip-hop version of the latest Amazing Spider-Man #1, which led to him telling me that the cover was a version of “Midnight Marauders” by A Tribe Called Quest, which happened to be one of his favorite albums ever.  So I looked up the album cover and it was very striking and I thought what the hell, let’s see if we can latch hook a A Tribe Called Quest album cover, because that’s likely never been done before.  So I sent a pic to my latch hook guy and he came up with a pretty awesome pattern for it.  It looks a little phallic to the uninitiated, but the album cover is below for comparison (along with the Spider-Man cover that started this whole thing), and I think it turned out pretty great.  I’ll be making this into a rug for my friend.

As a result of this project, I listened to “Midnight Marauders” on repeat like a lot, and it really is a great album.  I’m likely going to try to do some more album covers in the future.  “Reach The Beach” by The Clash looks pretty interesting, and it’ll give me a chance to listen to it.  This is definitely the most esoteric latch hook I’ve finished to date, and I’m really happy with it.
tribe-and-spidey

