I’ve started a GoFundMe to help me make more latch hooks for others:  https://www.gofundme.com/latch-hook-charity

Here’s what my page says:

Over the last several months, I’ve rediscovered the quiet joy of latch hooking.  It was something I did as a kid and it’s something I can do while I spend time with my wife after a busy day at work.  And just recently, I discovered it’s something I can do to help others.

I’ll soon be selling the finished products at a gift shop at the local hospital where any proceeds made will go toward scholarships for med students.  I’m also planning on selling them online and giving the proceeds to charities, most of them likely animal welfare agencies but I’ll likely change it up depending on the theme of the design.

Unfortunately, as with all things, it costs money to make a latch hook.  There’s the cost of the kit, cost for materials, labor, etc.  I’ve already plunked down several hundred dollars for kits, but as my day job is at a non-profit, this will likely become an expensive hobby.  So I thought I might try this route to see if I could get some help in paying down my own expenses to allow me more time and money to make things that will benefit others.

If you’d like to get an idea of what these look like, you can check them out here:  https://thehappyhookersite.wordpress.com/

I really just want to help others.  It’s why I’ve chosen to work at non-profits during my adult life, and I’m very excited that I’ve found something I can do outside of work that speaks to me creatively but can still benefit others, both by raising money for good causes and providing a unique gift for loved ones.

This will hopefully be an ongoing, life-long project, and I promise I will be unbelievably appreciative if you can help support me in helping others in a fun and unique way.

